NOTICE OF INTENT
Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Board of Veterinary Medicine
(LAC 46:LXXXV.Chapters 1-15)
In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Louisiana Board (“Board”) of Veterinary Medicine has amended LAC 46:LXXXV. Chapters 1-15, regarding the licensure of veterinarians and registered veterinary technicians in the State of Louisiana. Chapter 3 of the rules amends section 303.B.4.b. to afford the Board greater discretion in determining when a licensed veterinarian applying for a Louisiana license has been a practicing veterinarian in the five year period preceding the date of application for Louisiana licensure when the passing of the national examination (NAVLE) is older than five years. Chapter 8 rewrites and renumbers the rules concerning the licensure of registered veterinary technicians. It deletes the requirement that applicants for a certificate of approval take and pass a state practical examination, adds a requirement that an applicant for a certificate of approval take and pass a state board examination, and provides for a process of the waiver of the retaking of the national examination (VTNE) where the passing score occurred more than three years before the application for a certificate of approval. This Rule is adopted on the date of promulgation.
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS
Part LXXXV. Veterinarians
Chapter 3. Licensure Provisions
A.-B.4.a. . . .
- has been employed as a licensed veterinarian in a full-time private practice or its equivalent as determined by a majority vote of the board for the five years immediately preceding his application. Full-time shall be defined as a minimum of 32 hours worked per week.
- b. has worked as a licensed veterinarian an average of 32 hours per week in a private practice or its equivalent continuously and without substantial interruption for a period of five years immediately preceding his application.
5.-E.6. . . .
Chapter 8. Registered Veterinary Technicians
- . . .
- A state board examination shall be required of all applicants for licensure as a registered veterinary technician in Louisiana. No person shall obtain any certificate to practice as a registered veterinary technician without successfully passing the Louisiana state board examination. No waivers of the state board examination shall be granted.
- BC. A passing score on the VTNE shall be deemed to be the pass point as determined by the examining agency contracted with by the board for the formulation, administration and/or grading of the VTNE.
- The state board examination shall consist of no fewer than 25 questions taken from the veterinary practice act statutes and rules promulgated by the board.
- CE. A passing score on the state practical board examination for veterinary technicians shall be deemed to be the correct answering of at least 70 percent of the questions on the state examination.
- DF. The administration of the VTNE shall be in accordance with rules, practices, policies or procedures prescribed by the AAVSB or by any person or persons with whom the AAVSB may have contracted to administer said exam. The VTNE may be administered by members of the Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine or any of the agents, employees, or designees of the board.
- EG. The state practical board examination for veterinary technicians may be prepared, administered, and graded by the members of the Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine or may be prepared, administered, and/or graded, in whole or in part, by any person, firm corporation, or other entity selected, requested, or designated to do so by the Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine.
- FH. In order to receive a certificate to practice as a registered veterinary technician in the state of Louisiana, an applicant must pass both the VTNE and the state practical board examination.
- GI. A passing score on either required examination will be given effect for a period of three years. Should an applicant pass one of the required examinations but fail to pass the other required examination for a period of three years, such applicant will thereafter be required to pass both examinations notwithstanding such applicant’s previous passing of one of the required examinations.
- The requirement for taking the national examination (VTNE) may be waived when an applicant:
- holds a current valid license or certificate in good standing as a registered or certified veterinary technician in another state, district, or territory of the United States; and
- has been employed as a registered or certified veterinary technician an average of 32 hours per week in a private practice or its equivalent continuously and without substantial interruption for a period of three years immediately preceding his application.
- HK. An applicant for certification may only sit for the national examination a maximum of five times. Thereafter, the applicant will no longer be eligible for certification in Louisiana and any application will be rejected.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1549. HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:226 (March 1990), amended LR 20:1380 (December 1994). LR 40:309 (February 2014)